Mission | Goals | Board of Directors


The Centro has helped me discover more about the Mexican culture, my culture. I have discovered how great it is to be a woman of color, a Mexican. It feels neat when you can proudly say you’re Mexican.

-- Analy, 17

Mission:

El Centro Cultural de Mexico is an alternative space in Santa Ana where the community can find cultural, educational, and artistic activities that strengthen their identities, develop their talents and develop a sense of leadership in their community.

By engaging Orange County residents and communities through community outreach efforts, it supports inter and intra-cultural interaction and dialogue among Orange County’s residents by creating a variety of programs which enables all people to explore their own heritage and culture. Through educational programming, which includes workshops in dance, music, art, and literacy, it promotes understanding and appreciation of the contributions of the many cultures in our region by sharing knowledge of Mexico’s rich cultural, and educational, and social legacy.

It seeks to be at the forefront of creating a strong ideological and cultural bridge to support bringing together a variety of cultural projects from Mexico and other parts of Mexico, Central and South America.

 

Goals:
  • Culture and Education

  • Community Outreach

  • Transnational Collaborations

 

Board of Directors

Jesus Gutierrez, Chair
Civil Engineer, Hunsaker & Associates
JGutierrez@el-centro.org

Rossana Cambron, Secretary
Educator, Downey Unified School District
RCambron@el-centro.org

Gustavo Arellano, Treasurer
Staff Writer, OC Weekly
GArellano@el-centro.org

Carolina Sarmiento, Public Relations 
PhD. Student, University of California Irvine
CSarmiento@el-centro.org

Jose Luis Gonzalez, Public Relations
Editor, El Cuervo de Orange
JGonzalez@el-centro.org


Andrea Ramirez, Grants
Development Associate, Los Angeles Regional Foodbank
ARamirez@el-centro.org

Luis Ruan, Sponsorships
Youth Development Leader, National Latino Fatherhood and Family Institute
LRuan@el-centro.org

Hector Tierra, Member
Childcare Educator
HTierra@el-centro.org